De Francis Dash

Winner of the 26th Running
of the De Francis Dash

which ran on
Saturday, September 16, 2017 at Laurel Park
                                                                Chublicious, 2017 Winner of the De Francis Dash
Three-Year-Olds and Up -- Six Furlongs
Win Value
1990 Northern Wolf M. Luzzi 120 Glitterman Sweickley $210,000 PIM ntr1:09
1991 Housebuster C.Perret 126 Clever Trevor Safely Kept   180,000 LRL   1:083
1992 Superstrike(GB) D.Sorenson 112 Parisian Flight King Corrie   180,000 LRL   1:094
1993 Montbrook C.Ladner 112 Lion Cavern Flaming Emperor   180,000 LRL   1:083
1994 Cherokee Run C.Perret 114 Boom Towner Fu Man Slew   180,000 LRL   1:084
1995 Lite The Fuse J.Krone 119 Crafty Dude Hot Jaws   180,000 LRL   1:084
1996 Lite The Fuse J.Krone 117 Meadow Monster Prospect Bay   180,000 LRL   1:084
1997 Smoke Glacken C.Perret 113 Wise Dusty Capote Belle   180,000 LRL   1:092
1998 Kelly Kip J.L.Samyn 121 Affirmed Success Partner's Hero   180,000 LRL   1:082
1999 Yes its True J.Bailey 114 Good and Tough Storm Punch   180,000 LRL   1:083
2000 Richter Scale R.Migliore 123 Just Call Me Carl Falkenberg   180,000 LRL ntr1:074
2001 Delaware Township J.Bailey 125 Early Flyer Xtra Heat   180,000 LRL   1:09
2002 D'wildcat J.Chavez 122 Deer Run Sassy Hound   180,000 LRL   1:104
2003 A Huevo R.Dominguez 119 Shake You Down Gators N Bears   180,000 LRL 1:08.92
2004 Wildcat Heir S.Elliott 119 Midas Eyes Clock Stopper   180,000 LRL 1:09.45
2005 I'm The Tiger(5) J.Bailey 118 Tiger Heat Clever Electrician   180,000 LRL 1:09.06
2006 Thor's Echo C.Nakatani 122 Diabolical Nightmare Affair   180,000 LRL 1:08.71
2007 Benny the Bull E.S.Prado 118 Talent Search Miraculous Miss   180,000 LRL 1:09.86
2009 Vineyard Haven A. Garcia 116 Ravalo Fleet Valid   180,000 LRL 1:09.62
2011 Candyman E J. Bravo 118 Immortal Eyes Sloan Ranger     90,000 LRL 1:09.43
2012 Action Andy H. Karamanos 118 Il Villano Immortal Eyes   210,000 LRL 1:10.61
2013 Immortal Eyes T. Dunkelberger 118 Saturday's Charm Service for Ten    210,000 LRL 1:08:47
2014 Zee Bros J. Ortiz 118 Happy My Way Bern Identity 210,000 LRL 1:08:77
2015 Gentlemen's Bet Daniel Centeno 118       LRL  
2016 Ivanfallunovalot Calvin Borel 118 Rockinn On Bye X Y Jet 150,000 LRL 1:10:07
2017 Chublicious Horacio Karamanos 118 Blu Moon Ace Whitmore 250,000 LRL 1:08.75

(ntr = new track record)
Not run in 2008 & 2010.  Grade 2 1992-1998; Grade 1 1999-2009

   The Frank J. De Francis Memorial Dash is one of the elite sprints in the country. 

  The inaugural De Francis Dash attracted the nation's finest sprinters to Pimlico Race Course in the summer of 1990. Included in the spectacular field were 1989 Sprint Champion Safely Kept and top sprinters Glitterman and Sewickly. But at the wire, in a fitting tribute to the late Mr. De Francis, it was Maryland-bred, Maryland-based Northern Wolf in a track record-setting time of 1:09.

  The Dash moved to Laurel for its second running. The distinguished field included two champions--Safely Kept and Housebuster-- as well as leading sprinters Clever Trevor and Sunny Blossom. Housebuster captured the winner's share of the lucrative purse with a five length victory. He was named Eclipse Award Sprint Champion for the second year in a row.

  During the next nine years while the Dash reigned as Laurel Park's signature summer event, it was captured by two additional Sprint Champions: Cherokee Run (1994) and Smoke Glacken (1997). 

  The race was moved to the fall in 2001 with instant success. Taking advantage of a deep sprinting field three weeks after the Breeders' Cup Sprint, the De Francis Dash attracted a strong field of seven, including four of the top Breeders' Cup finishers with visions of an Eclipse Award.  Thor's Echo laid claim to the 2006 sprint championship with a hard fought, driving victory in the Dash, three weeks after winning the Breeders' Cup Sprint at Churchill Downs. 

 The De Francis Dash was first graded in 1992 and became a Grade I event in 1998. In 2000, Richter Scale set the Laurel track record, running the six-furlongs in an impressive 1:07 4/5.

Eclipse Award

(Champion Sprinter)
1991       Housebuster
1994     Cherokee Run
1997  Smoke Glacken
2006        Thor's Echo

About Frank J. De Francis

   From the moment Frank De Francis became chief executive officer of Laurel Race Course in 1984, the complexion of Thoroughbred racing in Maryland changed forever.

   Dynamic, forceful, always seeking new opportunities to expand Maryland racing's horizons, De Francis brought an intensity to his endeavors that energized everyone around him.

racing to horsemen across the country and internationally, through such events as the revived Pimlico Special, an instant hit as one of the nation's leading older horse races; the International Turf Festival, a five-race grass extravaganza in October, and the winter sprint weekend at Laurel, featuring the lucrative General George and Barbara Fritchie Handicaps.  

   During the De Francis years, the Maryland stakes

   Before his death in August 1989, De Francis had put Laurel and Pimlico in the forefront of American racing.

  Extensive facilities renovations, including the innovative Sports Palaces at Laurel and Pimlico, were part of the De Francis operating mode, as were significant increases in advertising and promotional expenditures.

  He also sought to market Maryland

schedule under went major revisions which drew participation from horsemen on a regional and national basis.

   Frank De Francis' personality, intuition, and yes, touch of genius, made every day of his tenure as the leader of Maryland racing--be it Preakness Day or a Thursday in February--a special day at the races for all participants, especially his people, the fans.